Adult Romance, Reviews

My Review of Every Wrong Reason by Rachel Higginson


Every Wrong Reason by Rachel Higginson

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: September 22, 2015

Buy NOW!
Amazon | B&N | iBooks


First comes love. Then comes marriage. Then comes the… really nasty divorce. Kate Carter thought she married her soul mate. She thought she had her happily ever after. But seven years into Kate’s marriage, she realizes that her husband Nick is not what she wanted. He’s selfish, he’s oblivious and he doesn’t love her anymore. Maybe she doesn’t love him anymore either. Divorce is the only option if either of them wants to find happiness. Kate and Nick thought they knew what they wanted, but neither is prepared for the heartache that separating will bring them. The journey they embark on is not the freedom they wished for, but a painful look at the people they’ve become. At the end of it, Kate has to decide if this is really the life she wants or if maybe there’s a way to salvage her broken heart.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Rachel’s writing is compelling beautiful.  The kind that makes you want to turn everything off and devour all of her books in one sitting.  She has a way of making you fall in love with all of her characters.  Laugh one chapter and weep the next.

If you have ever been in an relationship then you will immediately be able to relate with this book.  From the prologue to epilogue, this book was like a drug I could not put down. 

After seven years of marriage, two of which spending trying to conceive a child, Nick and Kate seem stuck in a loveless marriage full of hate and resentment.  Kate is exhausted.  She is tired of fighting, tired of always being ugly, tired of caring.  So she gives up and asks Nick for a divorce.

Nick doesn’t try to stop her and moves out.  But with him gone the house seems empty, life seems meaningless…she is lost and doesn’t know if she will ever be able to recover after this.

Nick is impossible.  Showing up at her house unannounced, finally quitting the band and getting a real job AFTER she has begged him for years to do so AND he will not sign the damn papers! He seems to be doing better with out her while she is just a mere fraction of her formal self. 

But truthfully Nick is miserable and is determined not to lose Kate without a fight.  She thinks it’s too late and that they are not good for one another.  So he makes it his goal to prove her wrong.

Must read for all hopeless romantics. 

Favorite Scene: Christmas night phone conversation

Favorite Quote:

I want a life, a real one.  I want to know each day meant something profound and at the end of it, I want to know it was worth the journey.

Rachel Higginson

Website | Facebook|  Twitter

Rachel Higginson is the creator of The Star-Crossed Series, Love & Decay Novella Series, The Starbright Series, The Siren Series, Bet on Us and the soon to be released, The Five Stages of Falling in Love! She is also the co-creator of the podcast “Zach & Rachel Take Over the World.” She was born and raised in Nebraska, and spent her college years traveling the world. She fell in love with Eastern Europe, Paris, Indian Food and the beautiful beaches of Sri Lanka, but came back home to marry her high school sweetheart. Now she spends her days raising four amazing kids. In the few spare moments she has to herself, she is either reading for hours on end or writing her own stories.



(one of my top favs!!!!!!!!) Looking for another contemporary romance from Rachel Higginson? Five Stages of Falling In Love is on SALE for 99¢!


Purchase on Amazon:

Purchase on iBooks:

Purchase on B&N:

Purchase on Kobo:

Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her? Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days. When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again. As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge